In order to support and encourage kids’ development in sport, Sport Canada has developed The Long Term Athlete Development (LTAD) model as a framework for an optimal training, competition and recovery each stage of athletic development.


There are seven stages within the basic LTAD model:

  • Stage 1: Active Start (0-6 years)

  • Stage 2: FUNdamentals (girls 6-8, boys 6-9)

  • Stage 3: Learn to Train (girls 8-11, boys 9-12)

  • Stage 4: Train to Train (girls 11-15, boys 12-16)

  • Stage 5: Train to Compete (girls 15-21, boys 16-23)

  • Stage 6: Train to Win (girls 18+, boys 19+)

  • Stage 7: Active for Life (any age participant)


Stages 1, 2 and 3 develop physical literacy before puberty so children have the basic skills to be active for life. Physical literacy also provides the foundation for those who choose to pursue elite training in one sport or activity after age 12.

Stages 4-7 provide elite training for those who want to specialize in one sport or are past their competitive years and want to maintain their recreational pursuits.



The 2012 Active Healthy Kids Report Card provides a indepth analysis of kids activity levels and sedentary behaviour in Canada.

Canadian children and youth are spending more time being driven, and less time walking, to and from destinations like school, extracurricular activities, the park, and friend’s homes. With an overall decrease in active transportation, there has also been a steady rise in the use of the car and an increased reliance on motorized transportation in general.



Happy kids aren't tired!  Make sure your kids get enough sleep to recover from the day before and get ready for the next one!

Check out this sleep study to find out why it's so important.